?

Log in

No account? Create an account

Previous Entry | Next Entry

China trip 2006: A Tronkie Travellogue

Happy Fourth of July!

Here it is: an index to the compleat travellogue of my trip to Beijing, China, for your convenience. Comments appreciated!

Day 0 (Wed 07 Jun 2006) - Manhattan, Kansas, USA to Beijing, China
Day 1 (Thu 08 Jun 2006) - Arrival in Beijing, China
Day 2 (Fri 09 Jun 2006) - Dinner at Fragrant Palace: on Chinese food
Day 3 (Sat 10 Jun 2006) - Google and the Internet in China; Tiananmen Square and the Great Hall of the People
Day 4 (Sun 11 Jun 2006) - Shopping in Beijing
Day 5 (Mon 12 Jun 2006) - Yuanmingyuan (the Gardens of Perfect Brightness), Beijing and Tsinghua Universities, and Yiheyuan (the Garden of Nurtured Harmony)
Day 6 (Tue 13 Jun 2006) - A day at home: my cousins' golden retriever pups and Chinese movies and TV
Day 7 (Wed 14 Jun 2006) - Photos of the city; Internet outage begins; dinner at the Jade Garden
Day 8 (Thu 15 Jun 2006) - The Night of Bel Canto, Peking University
Day 9 (Fri 16 Jun 2006) - Dinner at Sichuanese restaurant: on hot and spicy food in China; on service industries in China (particularly airlines and high-speed Internet)
Day 10 (Sat 17 Jun 2006) - The Temple of Heaven (Tiantan) and Hongqiao Market
Day 11 (Sun 18 Jun 2006) - Tiananmen Square and Dazhaimen Dinner Theatre
Day 12 (Mon 19 Jun 2006) - The Forbidden City and Yong He Temple (Yong He Gong)
Day 13 (Tue 20 Jun 2006) - The Tombs of the Ming Emperors and the Great Wall of China
Day 14 (Wed 21 Jun 2006) - Dim sum (brunch) and shopping at Lido Plaza
Day 15 (Thu 22 Jun 2006) - Family day-trips and dinner visitors
Day 16 (Fri 23 Jun 2006) - Supergirl, the Chinese Pop Idol clone
Day 17 (Sat 24 Jun 2006) - Lunch and shopping at the Oriental Plaza Mall in downtown Beijing
Day 18 (Sun 25 Jun 2006) - On Communism in China
Day 19 (Mon 26 Jun 2006) - On the developing Chinese economy, foreigners and religious practice in Beijing, and shopping in Chinese marketplaces
Day 20 (Tue 27 Jun 2006) - On China's 20th and 21st century progress
Day 21 (Wed 28 Jun 2006) - DVD shopping; the return flight

In other news: Eep, it seems that NIST needed one more form from me for the 2006 NIST Machine Translation Evaluation. pnvtejaswi told me this when I was in China, but I had already faxed four forms, so I didn't realize there was one more. Aaaargh. Well, I've faxed it, so we should get all of the DVDs by next week. comptranslation ho!

--
Banazir

Comments

( 1 comment — Leave a comment )
amishlurker
Jul. 16th, 2006 12:40 am (UTC)
Thanks -- I will read all of the entries, as soon as I get caught up here at home. I was traveling during some of the time you were away (nothing nearly as exciting as your trip) and didn't have time to absorb anything lengthy, so I put it off until home myself.
( 1 comment — Leave a comment )

Latest Month

December 2008
S M T W T F S
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
28293031   

KSU Genetic and Evolutionary Computation (GEC) Lab

Teunciness

Breakfast

Science, Technology, Engineering, Math (STEM) Communities

Fresh Pages

Tags

Page Summary

Powered by LiveJournal.com
Designed by Naoto Kishi